Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Maria Kirilenko in Monterrey

Maria Kirilenko
In Monterrey, Rybarikova won, Zakopalova lost, Rus lost, Szavay won, Gajdosova Groth lost, Benesova beat Peer, Strycova won, Pennetta destroyed Craybas and Bartoli beat Krajicek. Elsewhere Kukushkin won, Bogdanovic won, Mahut won and Jenkins won.

Some exo in New York. The number one player in the world beat her sister after they both beat-up the Serbs

Nalbandian’s too sick for D-Cup – will he be replaced by arch enemy Del Potro?

Tennis underachiever turned glamour swimsuit model Maria Kirilenko poses in Monterrey. Also she actually wins a match!

More nonsense about Anna Kournikova making a comeback. Seriously, playing mixed doubles doesn’t signify anything – except a need for cash and publicity. If she really was thinking about a comeback she’d be playing singles (or doubles even), except if she did there’d be some much hype and hubris that it would probably be too much of a distraction and bury any serious efforts. That and that she may well be crap after five years of non match play. I think the only way we ever see her on the tour again is as a doubles specialist and I’m not sure that’s what she wants her legacy to be.

Yanina Wickmayer controversy continues with ‘he said, she said” claims of how bad it was. Wickmayer hit a fault serve backwards where it hit a linesperson and was immediately disqualified in the final of the 50K in Clearwater, gifting the title to Julie Coin who was a set down at the time. A peeved Wickmayer then skipped the doubles final and was penalised all her prize money and ranking points for both singles and doubles.
According to Julie Coin’s wonderfully fractured English (or a bad translation?):
"Yanina took a warning in 1st set at 2 / 2 after an umpire mistake and she was so upset she balanced a ball and the ball came out and almost hit someone in the public. After she exploded her racket ... .. short change aside the umpire asked her to calm down because otherwise the next time it's point. After 1 / 1 in the 2nd, I served a 1st ball out and she returned behind so nervous because I broke her, and unfortunately for her the ball went directly in linesman's head. It’s hard for her but that's the rule. Apparently the linesman is at the hospital and more than that because a moving jaw or teeth have something, I do not know too much. This is a story of crazy."
Apparently Wickmayer may have almost clocked a linesperson in the previous match but the debate seems to be did she just lash out at the ball without looking or did she catch the ball and then hit it (accidently) straight at the linesperson?

Andy Ram is now getting media attention. Someone tell him he’s only a doubles player.

No comments:

 

Links and Blogs

Website Design by Datasearch Internet Services